Hurting me

Hurting me

Postby Debs1 » Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:30 pm

I`ve been doing the Program for 2 years and my son is 14 years old 6ft tall and a solid build. all of a sudden in the last couple of months in a split second he keeps hurting me without any warning , kicking me (like a horse),barging, pulling my hair,he`s even bent my thumb back.i`m covered in bruises and feel really upset. He has so much control over me already which i accept i find it very hard he doesn`t care what he`s done and i feel like giving up on this Program.
Debs1

Re: Hurting me

Postby BeckyDamgaard » Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:03 am

Hello,

My name is Becky and I'm a Son-Rise Program Teacher at the Autism Treatment Center of America. I would love to help you!

I want to send you a big cheer for running your Son-Rise Program with your son for two years, that is a very wonderful and inspiring thing you have done! We want to support you and encourage you to keep going with your program as a way to help your son through this challenging time.

Here are some things to do:

1) I believe there is a reason your son is doing this. Here are some thoughts as to why he may be doing this. It' could be a communication! Be a detective and look at when he's doing this. Ask yourself the questions, "what happended before he hurt me?" and "what happended afterwards". Sometimes our children are having a challenge with processing the words that they need to say (I'm not sure of your sons verbal ability). When something didn't go their way and being physical with you is a quick and easy way to make things happen. Look for patterns in this behavior and notice when he does it "was I challenging him before it happened?", "was he asking for food and there was none left?", "did I get close to him", etc. Then what happened afterwards? "did it get my attention when I was busy doing something else?", "did it get him the thing he wanted?", "did I back off and give him some space?", etc.