Destructive & Agressive Behavior

Destructive & Agressive Behavior

Postby worthy_123 » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:56 pm

I am new to the son-rise program. I recently came across it on the internet and I have been applying some of the principles to my 17 years old son. He has some episodes of agressive behavior. Whenever that happens I normally send him to his room. However, he does not go willingly. He tries to hit and bite me. He breaks windows, furniture, doors, walls. I cannot restrain him during these episodes. I recently had to put him on medication, however, he is displaying many side effects without any positive change. He is much happier since I started to join him. Hee does not have any "isms" just some unwanted behavior such as putting everything on his mouth, his aggression, and limited speech are the biggest. He likes to go outdoors and enjoy many outdoor activities.

Any suggestions on how I could help him with his agressive behavior without getting hurt? I normally tries to redirect him before the outburst, but it does not help. I also tells him he is a good boy and good boy does not behave like this. Whenever, I do that, he gets angier. I would really appreciate your response. I already spoke with a counselor and hope to attend the start up session in June.
worthy_123

Re: Destructive & Agressive Behavior

Postby jz247 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:30 am

First of all, it is great for you to applying the Son-Rise principles because it does work!
Destructive and aggressive behaviors are often an effective way to communicate from the child's perspective as it gets immediate reaction from ppl.
First of all, understand that it is not personal, but his way to expressing or communicating his wants to you. So its neither destructive nor aggressive in a sense, its just expressive.
Make sure you position yourself in a safe manner, i.e, putting a big therapy ball between you and him.
I don't know if your child is verbal, but they usually understand more than we think they can.