Autism & Downs Syndrom

Autism & Downs Syndrom

Postby simski » Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:07 pm

Hello there,
I have been working with special children and Son-Rise for 10 years now. I did, some years ago meet a 4-year-old boy with Downs Syndrome and Autism. He too had some challenging behaviors, biting and pinching people and was thought to be non-verbal. When I was ask to work with him I asked his careers to not intervene when/if he bit or pinched, they agreed. They all so told me he liked the "a sailor went to sea" song sang to him so I sang it for him a few times, he did seam to like it. Then I stopped and waited, he motioned me to sing it again so I did and told him he could say "A" next time. I finished the song and waited again then he went to bite me, I reminded him that he could say "A" he stopped, looked at me and said "A". Big celebration from me and I sang the song. We did this for every word of the song till we were both singing the whole song together it was so beautiful oh and he didn't try to bite much till he was taken to the home bus.

Much Love Simon *o*
:D
simski

Re: Autism & Downs Syndrom

Postby mphorsley » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:18 pm

I teach children in elementary school who have special needs, too. Some have autism, one has down syndrome, etc. My assistant has an inoperable brain tumor and refuses to play with these kids. I feel like they thrive on play and conversation. How do I get this across to the assistant? I can work with 5 older boys, and still keep abreast of what she is doing or not doing . What gets really frustrating is when I read about all the different methods of treating autism. It seems like the best ones are the most expensive ones and they are all trying to sell products.
mphorsley

Postby CarolinaKaiser » Wed May 05, 2010 1:54 pm