first one to one

first one to one

Postby Sab » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:03 pm

Hi everyone! Hope alls well. Ok so i finally got down to doing my first ever sonrise session with my son. We are waiting on an extension to have a proper playroom so i have started by using my lounge but its not really working cuz Adam knows where his toys are (battery operated, not allowed!) so he kept leading me by the hand to the toy cupboard and getting upset that i wouldn't comply. Still i did get some good eye contact and he is non verbal YET but repeated the odd word after me only once so i am pleased! :)
Sab

Re: first one to one

Postby BeckyDamgaard » Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:18 pm

Hello!

My name is Becky and I'm a Son-Rise Program Teacher. Good for you doing your first Son-Rise session with your son. It's exciting that you are building a new playroom for him where many beautiful things will take place! We are cheering you on all the way!

We suggest that you remove the batteries from the toys you mentioned for the time being and actually have the toys available to him without the batteries. It's going to be incredibly useful for your son, as children with autism already have a hypnotic personality that leans towards repetitous, predictable activities and any battery operated/electronic toys will fuel that part of him. The other reason why it's useful is that we want to be as user-friendly to him as possible so if we take the things he loves away from him then his experience of people will be one of them not being as attractive, thus sending the opposite message to him that we want to.

When you are ready to do this, I would explain to him when it's going to happen and the confidently and lovingly thow the batteries away and give supply him with the toys.

Warm regards,
BeckyDamgaard

Postby Sab » Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:31 am

Hi Becky!