In the search for the support team

In the search for the support team

Postby msacalifornia » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:45 am

Hi,
I've been having a hard time to look for volunteer and even paid ones to help me to make the support team for my son. How long does it take to have a very supportive people who can incorporate the Son-Rise program or essence in their way of interacting with my son? Shall I do something else?
Hope to hear from you. Thanks again.
msacalifornia

Re: In the search for the support team

Postby SusanHumphries » Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:48 pm

Hi there Msacalifornia!
We are cheering you on in your pursuit for getting volunteers. My name is Susan and I am a Son Rise Instructor. I have volunteered in 3 Son Rise Programs and I am about to Volunteer in my 4th program. I tell you this so that you can hear that I am one of thousands of people who want to be a part of a Son Rise journey. I have been working with parents for over 5 years and the most common thing that gets in the way of parents finding volunteers is a strong belief that people will not want to volunteer their time. Our belief determines our actions and feelings. What belief are you holding about getting volunteers? Do you believe there are people in your area that would want to support your son in his Son Rise Program. People who would want to dedicate 4-6 hours a week for at least 6 months!!!!! I am telling you that there are. The other thing to hold as a supportive belief is that whoever volunteers in your program will receive the greatest gift, the gift of being with your wonderful child in a joyful, celebratory, energetic, non-judgmental manner. My life totally changed in a hugely rewarding direction simply because I volunteered with a Son Rise Family.