My 3yr old does not want to stay in the playroom with me

My 3yr old does not want to stay in the playroom with me

Postby Rachaussie » Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:43 am

HI,
My son is almost three and does not want to be in the playroom. He lasts about 10 minutes and then is trying to get out the door crying :(
How do i get him to want to stay in there with me? And what do I do to help him from being upset? do I let him leave the playroom or perservere through the crying?

Ive just started so i am very dissapointed that this has happened.
Rachel
Rachaussie

Re: My 3yr old does not want to stay in the playroom with me

Postby SusanHumphries » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:11 pm

Welcome to the message board Rachel! My name is Susan and I am a Son Rise Teacher in training who has been working with The Son Rise Program ™ the Option Institute for 5 years. My journey with the Son Rise Program started 15 years ago after I attended the Start Up. We are here to help you and we celebrate you for asking this question so you can really help your sweet son.
For some children initially it may be challenging to be in the playroom because they have not made a connection to it or don’t yet have an understanding of how wonderful the room is going to be. For some children it is a challenge to be in the same room with another person when they are the focus. All it means is that we have to adjust some things so that he really understands that this is his special room where he can be who he is and be loved, accepted and given tons of control!